Believing Foolishness

…God decided, through the foolishness of our proclamation, to save those who believe. 1Corinthians 1:21 NRSV

Jill Carattini writes, “…foolishness and weakness imbibe the Christian story.”

When you think about it, she’s right! It made no sense for God to speak to theFaith world through a man born in a desert town to two poor parents. It made no sense for Jesus to eat with sinners and count the poor as friends. It made no sense for God to save the world by using a Savior who humbled himself to death, even the death of a cross.

The wisdom of this world calls the gospel of Jesus Christ foolishness. Had it been up to them, the worldly wise probably would have crafted a very different plan of salvation. But that plan would have failed. That’s because those who believe what the world says end up deceived by sin and on a collision course with death. To me that’s real foolishness!

Wise people follow the wisdom that gives sight to the blind, that makes the lame to walk, that heals the sick and washes sin away! Wise people look for the path that leads to life!

God’s foolishness is wiser than human wisdom (1Corinthians 1:25). Since that’s true, then I think it only makes sense to put my full faith in God, and to believe the gospel of Jesus Christ. If that means believing foolishness, then count me a fool!

All I know is that once I was lost, and now I’m found. So I am going to just keep on following the one who found me!

Why not come along? Believe some of God’s foolishness today!

MC910216397[1]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment