Tamed Tongues

But speaking the truth in love, we must grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ, from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by every ligament with which it is equipped, as each part is working properly promotes the body’s growth in building itself up in love. Ephesians 4:15-16 NRSV

MP900430759[1]Children chant, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.” That’s a nice saying, but I doubt any of us really believe it. Even the thickest skinned person feels the sting of harsh words, disrespectful speech, demeaning names and angry venom spewed from the mouths of others.

I don’t know about you, but I certainly don’t want to be someone who uses my words as weapons of assault. Paul’s words remind us that we are to first speak the truth, and then we are to speak it in love. That means anything that is not consistent with truth, or is not spoken in love, should not come from our mouths.

Today’s video gives a simple reminder of this truth, and calls you and me to join in the effort to let God tame our tongues. To view the video please click here.

Then, speak the truth in love!

  1. I have found that many times as I speak the truth “in love,” feelings are hurt, and people are insulted. Often times I feel like my honesty is a burden, but we are commanded to be honest or else.. Revelation 21:8

    -Jack Nicholson: “The truth, you can’t handle the truth!” A Few Good Men

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

