Wise People Walk

Happy is everyone who fears the LORD, who walks in his ways. Psalm 128:1 NRSV

MP900448575[1] I want to be happy.  I want to have a fruitful life, a rich marriage and close-knit family. I want peace to follow me all the days of my life. I want the blessings of God.Who doesn’t?

If I want to live a happy life, I would be wise to start with the psalmist’s words. Psalm 128 tells me to fear the Lord and walk in his ways.

What strikes me about this list is how short and simple it is. After giving God the reverence God is due, I need to focus on walking in God’s ways.

Of course, there are other things I could do. I could read about and meditate on God’s ways. Studying is always good. I could talk about God’s ways. Sharing is useful. I could even write about God’s ways. Blogging is fun.

None of these things are bad. MP900433086[1]They just aren’t the same as walking. A walker actually travels down a path. A walker experiences what the road has to offer. Those who walk don’t imagine what the faith journey is like, they live it. They don’t talk about what the Bible says, they do it.

Walkers are doers. They go God’s way. They follow God’s commands. They love and serve Jesus Christ. They don’t just read about truth and debate ideas, they act on the principles given the in God’s word.

Wise people walk. Are you wise? Are you walking the walk? The more you do, the happier you will be!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

