Do What’s Right

His God instructs him and teaches him the right way. Isaiah 28:26 NIV

MP900431118[1] For the most part, I try to do what’s right and avoid what’s wrong. The trick is knowing what’s right!

Lawrence Kohlberg was  a psychologist who studied moral reasoning. He found that at the most basic level what’s right is what gets you the things you want. At a higher level, what’s right is defined by what is required for social order. But at the highest level, determining what’s right depends on higher moral principles.

That tells me if I want to do what’s right in a particular situation, I have three ways I can go. I can follow the rules. Following the rules will help me get what I want. If I go a little bit further, I could try and be a good citizen and follow the laws of the land.

MP900399592[1]But if I’m looking to be a good and faithful servant of Jesus Christ, then I  will turn to the principles God gives in the Bible for faithful followers to follow. Those principles don’t negate rules and laws. They transcend them. That’s because they come from the author of all wisdom!

All this comes from the LORD Almighty, wonderful in counsel and magnificent in wisdom. Isaiah 28:2 NIV

In the end, doing what’s right depends on what I want. If I want to satisfy my own selfish desires and indulge in a pleasure-filled life, then I should follow the rules for worldly success. If I want to live at peace and keep myself out of trouble, I will follow the laws of the land.

But if I want to please God, I will go one step further. I will apply the principles given me in God’s Word to set my course, to guide my behavior and to live a life of faith!

MP900422534[1]I like Kohlberg’s work because it reminds me that I have a choice. What I do depends on what I want. You have a choice too.

Let’s choose the higher ground and practice the principles God gives. Then we will get what we really want: the presence and power of God at work in our lives! What more could anyone ask for!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

