No More Excuses

If you say, “Look, we did not know this” – does not he who weighs the heart perceive it? Proverbs 24:12a NRSVMP910221079[1]

As a college instructor, I can honestly say I’ve heard almost every excuse you can imagine. Once a student actually told me their dog ate their homework. I know things happen, but at times I get tired of hearing excuses.

I wonder, does God tire of my excuses? I certainly make enough of them. What this verse in Proverbs tells me is that God is not really interested in excuses. God goes right to the heart. That’s where the truth lies.

God doesn’t listen to excuses. God weighs the heart!

I’ve come to the conclusion that some students will always have an excuse. Still, if they would be honest with me, and take responsibility for their actions, it would be much easier.

Wise people don’t bother making excuses. They don’t waste time rationalizing their behaviors, and they don’t skirt responsibility. They stop pretending that their excuses make any difference to God.

MP900444256[1] Instead, they maintain a childlike faith by keeping an open and honest relationship with God. They tell God what is on their hearts. They listen to what God says, and then respond with loving devotion.

That’s what God wants, and it’s what we desperately need to do!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

