Being Still

Be still and know that I am God! I am exalted among the nations I am exalted in the earth. Psalm 46:1 NRSV

RainbowThis is a verse I turn to again and again for strength and for peace. I try to remember it whenever I start feeling swept away by the swirling waters of frantic activity, or the mounting pressures of deadlines and due dates. What a refreshing breath of crisp, clean air comes with those two simple words, “Be still.”

MP900285001[1]But most of the time being still is easier said than done. My schedule is usually crammed, and I’m in constant motion. There is little time for being still. In those frantic times I wonder,” Can’t God keep up with me? Why do I have to slow down and be still?”

Well, you know that God has no trouble keeping up with me. God doesn’t need me to slow down either. I need to slow down. I need to set my priorities straight, and stop to remember who God is and what God has called me to do.

Look at what happens if I reverse the opening sentence of verse 10: “Know that I am God and be still.” The Lord is God, our Creator, Redeemer and Sustainer. Remembering that certainly gives me reason to pause, to be still, and to recommit myself to God’s care.

Know that I am God.

What God wants is for each of us to clear away things that clutter our hearts and distract our minds. Then we will have room to remember that the Lord, whom we worship, is King over all creation. Jesus, whom we serve, is the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. He is the Lord of life and the King of Glory!

MP900425323[1] When we let the truth about God and Jesus ascend to the throne of our lives, then we will be still. Peace will flow like a river into our souls. Hurrying and scurrying will no longer seem so necessary. We will find ourselves attending to God’s work with a quiet confidence and steady determination. We will be enjoy Jesus’ refreshing and renewing grace. Most importantly, we will be awed and stilled by the magnificent glory of God!

We will be still.

Perhaps the lesson is that being still doesn’t come from stopping our frantic lives. It comes from taking the time to remember who God is, what God has done, and all the promises yet to come. When those great truths confront us, they settle us right down. They still our hearts and bathe us in peace.

Why not join me today, and take a moment to know that God is exactly who God says He is. Embrace the reality that God is totally in control, and will do everything God has purposed and promised to do! Then breathe in the still and fresh air of God’s peace!

Let God’s truth still you, today!

Prayer:

Great and glorious God, how awesome you are! When I stop to think of You and all you have done and are doing, I find myself settling right down. Even when life gets frantic, I know you are God. Write that truth on my heart, and keep it front and center on my mind. Then I will truly be able to be still!

Amen.

Still copy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

