Passionately Pursue

The wise are cautious and turn away from evil, but the fool throws off restraint and is careless. Proverbs 14:16 NRSV

I am a passionate person. Once I know what what I want, I put everything I can muster into the pursuit of that goal. That means I gather all the resources I can find, and I focus my energy and efforts to accomplish what I have set out to do.

What I have discovered over time is that passionately pursuing one goal means turning away from other pursuits. That’s especially true when it come to my most important life goals.

MP900400112[1] As a child I listened to a story about a boy who wanted to learn to play piano. He took lessons and began practicing and pursuing his goal. But it wasn’t long before he became interested in other instruments too. He quickly dropped piano, and began studying the trumpet, the violin, the drums, the oboe, the guitar and on and on. In the end, he knew a little about lots of instruments, but couldn’t really play any of them well. He was more a noise-maker than a musician. I never wanted to be that boy.

The writer of Proverbs tells us that fools lose focus and throw off restraint. They follow their feelings. They let every passing whim guide their steps. Their passions end up driving them to destruction.

MP900409317[1]The wise aren’t like that. They are cautious. They seek God-honoring goals. Then they use their passion to pursue those goals. When that happens, their lives become lights for Jesus Christ!

Let’s use the passion God has planted in us wisely. Let’s use it to drive us to an ever-deeper relationship with Jesus, and to a life that is more responsive to doing what he calls us to do! 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

