Knowing & Trusting

The LORD is my light and my salvation-whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? Psalm 27:1 NRSV

This is one of my favorite verses. It’s a favorite because I find myself going back to it time and time again.

Sometimes when I read Psalm 27:1 I ask myself, whom shall I fear? Well, I can think of plenty of people I fear, or situations I don’t want to be in. I’m sure the psalmist had his share of threats too. Besides that, all of us face the unknown and the unexpected.

So how can the psalmist face the known and the unknown so calmly and confidently? His words gives us a clue. He knows who is in charge. The psalmist knows who holds the future.MP900430489[1]

Of course we know that God is charge. But we still struggle with worry,  and we still feel fear. Maybe it isn’t enough to just know who is in charge. Maybe the key is knowing whose in charge, and trusting them too!

The only problem is that to trust someone, you really have to get to know them well. You have to find out how they act in different situations. You have to get a glimpse into their real nature. You also have to see things the way they do.

If we know that God is in control, then the next step for us is getting to trust God. What do we know that gives us reason to trust? We know God’s nature. The Scriptures tell us that God is love, and that God’s nature is to work all things together for good. We also know that God is greater than any principality or power at work in this world. We know that we are called to love and serve God, just like the psalmist was. God has a purpose for each of our lives.

So, there is no enemy that can rob me of God’s love. There is no situation that can thwart God’s plan for me. I can truly say, the Lord is my light and my salvation!

I know God, and I trust God. I also know that the more I know, and the deeper my trust goes, the less fear I will experience.MP900442905[1]

Let’s join the psalmist and make God the light of our lives. Let’s let God’s love for us chase the fear out of our hearts. Let’s put our trust so completely in the Lord that our worries melt away, and we step forward with confidence into lives of love and service!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

