Less Wandering & More Following

MP900443601[1] Never stop learning. Never turn away from what God is trying to teach you. God’s precepts are good, and God’s instruction leads to life. Proverbs 4:2 paraphrased

One important thing to know about sheep is that they have very limited vision. It is hard for them to see more than a few feet in front of them. So it is very easy for them to wander off and get themselves into trouble.MP900146012[1]

You and I can see a lot further than sheep, but when compared to what God sees,  our vision is terribly limited. When looking across the landscape of eternity, we can’t see or even begin to conceive of all that has happened, is happening or will happen.

That’s why we desperately need the Good Shepherd. Jesus has the vision we lack. He was there from the beginning, and knows all that is to come. He knows where we need to go and what we need to avoid. He knows what is best for us, and what we need to do be our best. He knows God’s plan, and is ready to lead us in our part in that plan.

Even though my Good Shepherd is ready to teach me God’s ways and lead me in the paths of righteousness, I sometimes don’t listen very well. I resist my Shepherd’s lead. That really is foolish! I have to remember that God’s plans and purposes for me are far beyond anything I could ask or imagine. God has a far better plan in mind than my limited vision could ever dream up.MP900262885[1]

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I am like a wandering sheep. Thankfully,  my Shepherd nudges me to keep on learning. The more I follow Jesus, the more I realize he knows the way through the wilderness. His truth is the truth. His instruction leads me to life!

Jesus has taught me that I need to do less wandering and more following.

Today, why not try wandering off less. Instead, focus on following Jesus. Walk with Jesus, and let him lead you to life!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

