The Unseen Footprint

Listen to the psalmist’s words, and tell me what the problem is:MP900448595[1]

I cry aloud to God… in the night my hand is stretched out…my soul refuses to be  comforted… I moan; I meditate, and my spirit faints…I am so troubled that I cannot speak. Psalm 77:1-4 NRSV excerpts

I think this person is depressed. The writer mentions a number of the classic signs, including low mood, weakness and fatigue, and feeling distressed.

Amazingly, this psalmist quickly finds a way out of his depression and despair. Instead of dwelling on how he feels, he makes a magnificent change. He shifts gears and starts focusing on what he knows.

Listen to what he writes next:

I will call to mind the deeds of the LORD; I will remember your wonders of old. I will meditate on all your work, and muse on your might deeds…You are the God who works wonders; you have displayed your might among the peoples. Psalm 77:11-12 NRSV

He has discovered a way out of the mental wilderness of worry, depression and  defeat. That way focuses on the unseen reality. In fact, in verse 19 he writes, “…your footprints were unseen.”

The psalmist discovered that looking at only at our situation, and dwelling only on the problems facing us, leads to despair. But going beyond our five senses, and Taking care opening our eyes to God and the unseen reality of God’s love and grace at work in and around us, opens the door to a new attitude and a new hope!

This is one way that Jesus brings us victory. His words shift our attention from what we are going through and how we feel, to what God is doing in us and through MP900444539[1]us. That shift opens the door to new possibilities, and gives us reason for joy!

When you feel down and defeated, what is your mind focusing on? Maybe you can join me and learn from the psalmist’s example. Maybe in the days ahead you can fix your mind on God, and on the unseen footprint of God’s love at work in your life!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

