Don’t Just Wait, WATCH!

MP900227506[1]O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch. Psalm 5:3 NRSV

It’s comforting to know that Jesus cares about us and the burdens we bear. But comfort only goes so far. What we really need to know is how to keep on going as problems mount and stress builds up.

Few of us have faced more stress than David. Just glance through the Psalms and you will discover that David’s life was often in danger, and his faith was constantly challenged. Amazingly, he never gave up on God. Even in moments of deep despair, he looked to the hills and the Lord renewed his hope.

What was his secret? How did he keep on going even when walking through the valley of the shadow of death?

Today’s verse tells us that David didn’t just lay his burdens down, he pleaded his case before God. He was completely open and honest with God about the struggles he was having, how he felt, and what he wanted. He passionately petitioned God.

Then he didn’t just sit around and wait for God to rescue him. He watched! Watching is quite different from waiting. Those who watch expect something to happen. They wait expectantly. They trust that their petitions didn’t fall on deaf ears. They believe in God and not only in God’s ability to help, but God’s desire to support and sustain them!

I find great comfort each day in knowing that Jesus cares about me. Still, I am never really satisfied with just a dose of daily comfort. I need something more. I need God’s help.

If I am smart, I will follow David’s example. I will be open, honest and passionate with God about my struggles and needs. Then I will start watching. I will start looking for the hand of God at work in me and around me. I will wait withMP900400451[1] expectancy, and look for God’s steadfast love and abundant grace to meet my every need.

Why not join me? Plead your case with God, today. Then watch what the Lord can  do!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

