Our Plans: God’s Purposes

The human mind may devise many plans, but is is the purpose of the LORD that will be established. Proverbs 19:21 paraphrased

MP900321177[1] I’m an idea person. My head is filled with ideas. When people ask me for help, I enjoy coming up with new ways to tackle old problems. What I have learned over the years is that many of my ideas sound good, or look good on paper, but the road from idea to solution is often a long and winding way.

MP900402515[1]Part of the problem is that my ideas sometimes lead me to devise plans that run counter to God’s purposes for me. When that happens, I usually end up frustrated. The more dead end roads I travel down, the more I start to realize there is a better way.

Instead of starting with an idea and then a plan, I have discovered that it’s best to start with learning more about Taking careGod and God’s purposes. From the beginning of time, God has had a purpose for all creation. The more attuned I am to God’s purposes, the more likely I will be to then make plans consistent with those purposes!

The writer of Proverbs knew that no matter what plans we make, God’s purposes endure. So wise men and women start with getting to know what God wants. Then they work hard to align their thoughts, feelings and behaviors with God’s purposes. What they discover is that when their plans are built on God’s purposes, those plans are more likely to succeed!

The morale of the story is: Don’t put the cart before the horse. Know God. Seek God’s will. Discern God’s purpose for you and your life.

Then start making plans!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

