Healthy Appetites

The Lord gives wisdom, his words give knowledge and understanding. Proverbs 2:6 paraphrased

A recent news report told of a scam where millions of dollars had been conned from individuals across the country selling miracle cars. TheMP900403138[1] truly sad part of the whole affair was that the con used the language of faith with people of faith.

Individuals across the country were told that God had a miracle waiting for them, all they had to do was to send in their money and claim their car. It sounded too good to be true, and it was.

Innocent people lost lots of money, because they found someone who created an appetite in them for something God never promised. The hungrier they got for a new car, the more money they sent.

Some people are blessed with wealth, but God does not promise pennies from heaven or miracle cars. What God does promise is wisdom, knowledge and understanding.

What God gives comes to those who have an appetite for those things. So the question I have to ask myself is, do I have an appetite for the gifts and graces God gives?

I would like to drive nice cars, and enjoy the finer things of life. But I have found that feeding those appetites leaves me feeling strangely dissatisfied and often times quite empty.

When I feed my appetite for truth, I find that God is right there ready to feed me with a banquet so rich I can’t possibly eat everything. Not only is there an abundance, but the food of wisdom, knowledge and understanding gives me a satisfaction that cars, clothing, furniture and jewelry just can not give.MP900444315[1]

I don’t know if your experience is like mine. But if it is, why not join me  this week in cultivating a healthy appetite. Go to God and ask for wisdom. Seek understanding. Look for knowledge.

Then open wide, and enjoy the blessings of God!

    • Jessica Loudermilk
    • August 11th, 2010

    Hi, I have enjoyed reading your website!! I was blessed to have you as my teacher for psychology this past sesmester also. I really enjoyed it. I went into it not knowing what to expect but I learned a lot. I love the lord with all my heart and it blessed me to know that it’s the same for you. Look foward to reading your daily devotions.
    Jessica Loudermilk

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

